Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
HDD not recognized on DVR-LT16480MHD
oesgsteve
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
July 18, 2013
Offline
1
July 18, 2013 - 5:11 pm

After 7 months, the installed Seagate Barracuda 2TB HDD (model ST2000DM001) stopped recording and the DVR (model DVR-LT16480MHD) set an alarm.  DVR was rebooted, didn't recognize the attached HDD, so reformat wasn't an available option.  Replaced the drive with two (2) identical Seagate 2TB drives and even replaced the data cable....DVR will not recognize the HDD.  Any options to get the system back up and running?

Jesus Ragusa
Moderator
Moderators

Members
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
March 27, 2013
Offline
2
July 18, 2013 - 5:24 pm

Hello, 

 

So you installed 2 Drives and the DVR is not seeing the drives? is the DVR saying "No Disk? Are the Hard Drive spinning? Are you using the same power supply that you were using before? Are you getting 12v at the power supply end?

bfaridnia
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
August 14, 2013
Offline
3
August 14, 2013 - 7:15 pm

I have a similar problem.

 

I have a elite mini hd 8 channel dvr with a HDD installed by security camera king (SCK) at purchase. The dvr is 2.5 yrs old. recently when the unit turned on the error came up that there was no hard drive available for recording. A quick check at the hard disk management window in the settings shows no disk detected. I changed the data cable and replaced the hard drive and received the same error. The drive is not spinning up. I am unable to change the power adapter cable as I do not have a extra one and the ones used for the other DVRs I have from SCK use a different connector on the mainboard.

 

All other functions of the DVR work normally. There are no other errors on the system.

 

Any troubleshooting steps to take? This unit is still under warranty so I may have to send it in. If so what is the process for that if I am unable to resolve locally.. thanks

Jesus Ragusa
Moderator
Moderators

Members
Forum Posts: 394
Member Since:
March 27, 2013
Offline
4
August 14, 2013 - 7:56 pm

I will say if the dvr's hard drive is not spinning and the dvr turns ON then there most be something going on with cable power cable.

bfaridnia
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
August 14, 2013
Offline
5
August 14, 2013 - 8:12 pm

Thanks. I suspected that however I dont know if the connector has much that can go wrong with it since only taking the power wires and distributing them.  I'll try to per the drive using a seperate power supply as well as check the female power terminals on the main board for successful +12v & +5v outputs

bfaridnia
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
August 14, 2013
Offline
6
August 19, 2013 - 1:56 pm

I tested the hard drive using a power cable connected to a separate computer and the data cable connected to the DVR and it spun up fine. I then tested the ouput of the HDD power on the Mainboard and found that the +5V rail was outputting +5V and the +12V rail was outputting +11.5V (see images). This drop in voltage is why the drive was unable to spin up. After troubleshooting with tech support from SCK, I tested the DVR using a different power supply that outputs 12V, 3A and the mainboard HDD power output read correctly at +12V and +5V. I then tried connecting the HDD to the mainboard and it spun up fine and was recognized.

 

TL:DR: Faulty Power Supply caused drop in HDD power voltage from mainboard. Replacing power supply brick resolved the issue.

 

photo-4.JPG

photo-3.JPG

dmu
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
January 6, 2015
Offline
7
January 6, 2015 - 12:11 am

Hi bro,

thank you for your post.

I think my case is the same power supply issue.

I will go and check after going home.

 

if it works you save me $$$$$ to buy new DVR.

thank's again

bfaridnia
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
August 14, 2013
Offline
8
January 6, 2015 - 7:11 pm

Hi bro,

thank you for your post.

I think my case is the same power supply issue.

I will go and check after going home.

if it works you save me $$$$$ to buy new DVR.

No problem. Make sure the check all aspects of the power supply chain. The output from the actual supply to the DVR, the DVR's output from the board to the HDD. 

I ended up purchasing one of these: SABRENT USB 3.0 TO SATA/IDE 2.5/3.5/5.25-INCH Hard Drive Converter With Power Supply to help me test SATA power in the field as well as quickly access the DVR HDDs without having to remove from the chassis. 

Best of luck. 

Forum Timezone: America/New_York

Most Users Ever Online: 41

Currently Online: Dan Maresca
15 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

shockwave199: 178

Gilberto: 150

MrDeepFreeze: 131

tubac: 115

Jer7of9: 105

Night Hawk: 88

ShawnInFL: 61

smokey44: 40

Craig: 34

West Coast Jones: 30

Newest Members:

tpcLock

vbar

jeff

karan1011

frankf

cptech

Ijbeaty

Kella

Wizztech

vibrant telecoms

Forum Stats:

Groups: 5

Forums: 27

Topics: 731

Posts: 3622

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 4

Members: 931

Moderators: 8

Admins: 5

Administrators: Security Camera King, Damon Delcoro, Brad Besner, Dro Simoes, Ian Bailes

Moderators: Dan Maresca, Ryan Newkirk, Jesus Ragusa, Zeke Richey, Jose Malave, Heath Phillips, javajeff, mrkuchuk