Avatar
Please consider registering
Guest
Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Sibell NVR showing 169.x.x.x for cameras
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
Avatar
AndyRPM360
USA
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 2
Member Since:
January 27, 2018
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
January 28, 2018 - 6:18 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost
sp_ReportPost

Setting up a Sibell 8ch, 8port poe NVR with 3 Sibell cameras.  The NVR is obtaining ip address automatically but cameras are showing 169.x.x.x fall back address.  All three cameras display video in NVR.  I have removed one and connected it directly to computer and logged into it and configured IP address manually to be on same network… 192.168.0.x/24 network.  NVR still shows 169.x.x.x fall back addresses for all three cameras.  I am beginning to think the NVR is defective.  Calling Tech support tomorrow.  Wish they were open on the weekend.  Any help would be appreciated. 

Avatar
Heath Phillips
Florida
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 261
Member Since:
January 15, 2014
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
2
January 29, 2018 - 10:22 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost
sp_ReportPost

Good Morning, 

Your NVR is not defective. This is normal operation for a Sibell NVR with built in POE, when pairing with Sibell IP cameras. The Sibell IPC’s do not connect with the Sibell NVR’s built in POE using the IP address you assign. They connect using a hard coding APIPA address, and this can not be changed. 

Info on APIPA: https://www.google.com/search?…..aqs=chrome..69i57j0l5.999j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

It is designed this way so that the cameras will be plug and play with the recorder. Even if the cameras connected using the static IP you assign, 192.168.0.x in your case, you would never be able to access them from your LAN. The NVR’s built in POE is an isolated private network that can not be accessed from your LAN.  

If you want to be able to access the cameras from your LAN directly, and not only through the NVR’s interface, you will need to buy an external POE switch and connect the cameras to your LAN, connect the NVR to your LAN, and then you can assign all components to a static IP within your network range. 

If you have any further questions/concerns, you’re welcome to respond here, or call tech support. However, fair warning, calling tech support is not going to resolve this for you, as there is nothing to resolve this is by design. Thank you. 

Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 233
Currently Online:
Guest(s) 15
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
Dan Maresca: 460
Techpro Security: 404
Heath Phillips: 261
shockwave199: 179
tubac: 166
Jer7of9: 151
Gilberto: 150
MrDeepFreeze: 136
javajeff: 132
LittleBrad: 103
Newest Members:
Andycam
frequency-drive.ru DHM34
Larryclump
Briannex
frequency-drive.ru DHD48
Kennethlonry
MichaelFuT
frequency-drive.ru OSQ29
Bundlesdept
frequency-drive.ru CJO26
Forum Stats:
Groups: 5
Forums: 28
Topics: 1445
Posts: 5902

 

Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 129
Members: 19598
Moderators: 9
Admins: 5
Administrators: Damon Delcoro, Brad Besner, Jose Malave, Damon Delcoro_1, Tony Petruzzi
Moderators: Zeke Richey, Eric Wilson, Yarden Pinhasi, Aldino Frassinelli, Joe Shopsin, Joe Reffit, jwilhelmi, Jorge Nava, Tyler Rittel