Yes, that’s right it’s now legal to buy, grow, smoke and sell marijuana for recreational purposes in Colorado.
On December 10th 2012, Amendment 64 went into effect. It states that individuals over the age of 21 are allowed to legally possess marijuana for any purpose, even for recreational use (as long as it does not exceed 1 ounce).
On January 1st of 2014 it became legal for licensed establishments to sell (the weed) to anyone over the age of 21. That basically means now it’s not against the law to go to the store, buy some pot and get toasted in Colorado.
It is important to note that it is still a crime to buy and sell marijuana under federal law and a lot of cities in Colorado have banned these types of stores.
This not only opens up the opportunity for people to benefit from the sale and purchase of weed but also creates great benefit to those who can now legally grow “The Pot”. Supply and Demand!
There is a lengthy application process with strict rules & regulations for those who wish to buy, grow or sell marijuana in the state.
Here are some interesting facts regarding Amendment 64. When you buy pot legally you will be on camera! All shops that sell marijuana must have an approved video surveillance system that is recording 24 hours a day 7 days a week. SMILE!
The stores have strict hours of operation, cannot be open before 8am and must close at 12 midnight.
You can purchase pot from as many stores as you like in a day but you must not exceed 1 ounce, on your person, at any time.
However, going from store to store stocking up so you can re-sell the good stuff on the street is illegal.
When you purchase the marijuana product, all you need is an ID. No other information has to be given to the store, and they don’t have to provide any documentation to the government about who bought, what they bought, or when they bought it.
You are absolutely NOT allowed to consume your newly purchased pot in the establishment where it was purchased. In other word “No Smoking in the Store!”
As a matter of fact, smoking in public is illegal under any circumstances.
Most, if not all of the Ski resorts have forbidden “smokin on da slopes”. Many are on federal land so it is a crime to smoke weed there anyway.
Where can you smoke? Well that’s not so clear. Although your landlord can tell you not to smoke on the property, what you do in the privacy of your own home is up to you.
Different cities have different rules. For instance in some places you can smoke it up on your front patio and in others it’s a no no!
It is totally illegal to take your stash out of the State of Colorado!
You are allowed to have it in your car as long as you’re not smoking it in your car.
You can get stoned at work as long as your employer is cool with it. But he can fire you for smoking during work hours if he chooses.
OK that’s it for me. I don’t even smoke and I’m getting the MUNCHIES!